A Good Weekend.

The sun was out with crystal clear blue skies and the mountains were freshly powdered with snow. How could I resist going for a nice run in the high country. After receiving texts filled with images of my wife’s hike with her friend in the back country the previous day I got the itch to do so myself. I intended to do an out and back from Todd Lake to Golden Lake, but as I approached Broken Top it just called out to me.

Approaching Broken Top.

Approaching Broken Top.

Although there was a bit of snow accumulation I thought I’d see how high up I could get to the summit. Got pretty close before heading back down. The effort was worth it as the views were tremendous.

image

Climbing Broken Top.

Climbing Broken Top.

Three Sisters in the background.

Three Sisters in the background.

Snow play.

Snow play.

The following day I volunteered at a local race called the Flagline 50k and Alpine Half. It was fun to be on the other side for a change during a race. To be able to give a little back to the running community. It was fun to also see and hear some of the personal stories of other runners in those brief minutes they stopped at our aid station. From the seemingly effortless running of the leaders to the fierce determination of mid and back of the pack runners. More then one saying with each step they took it would be the farthest they’ve ever run. Inspirational they all were.

Aid station.

Aid station.

Leave a Reply

