Injury and recovery.

So I made it through my toughest running season relatively unscathed. I dealt with a few issues that required I scale back my training at times and simply stay in recovery mode between races. I tried to listen to my body and yet try to continue making progress throughout. It can be a tough balancing act and for the most part I think I managed it fairly well. However after my last race I took a short recovery period and as the beautiful fall weather beckoned me to hit the trails I did so with mid season vigor. This was to be a mistake. Soon I began feeling some discomfort in my ankles but I ignored the warning signs and kept running at a hard pace. Ultra runners as a group develop a high pain tolerance out of necessity. To be able to compete in long grueling races that can take 5,15 even more then 24 hours one has no choice but to toughen up. To learn to push through physical and mental pain comes with the territory. Once the pain in my ankle became severe and it swelled up I could no longer ignore it.

Don’t let this happen to you.

Pushing forward would have potentially brought on a more severe injury. So as I now take a break from running I’ve been contemplating what one can do to avoid such pitfalls. Much of it seems like common sense you read and hear about from various running sources but it’s always good to remind oneself of these guidelines. Here is one such article from Irunfar.com.

Recover Better: 10 Rules For Optimal Ultramarathon Recovery  By Joe Uhan.

Leave a Reply

