2016 Race Schedule

Planning a race schedule for the upcoming year is never an easy task. There are many variables to consider. Personal goals and desires verses actual current physical conditioning, time to train for the events and financial costs all come into play. For me several personal goals swayed my decision.

When I ran my first marathon in 2010 all I wanted to do was finish the race and did so in a time of 4:45:00. After finishing my second marathon the following year I decided I would persue a Boston Marathon qualifying time as well as see if I could break the 3 hour barrier too. In 2014 I finished the Avenue of the Giants marathon in 3:19:58. This qualified me entry by five minutes into Boston and my best time to date. So after not running a road marathon last year I decided to give it another go and will be racing in the Eugene marathon on May 1 st. I feel quite capable of doing it in a time of 3:10:00. For the first time I have employed the assistance of a coach, who himself is a very accomplished runner, to write me up a training plan. I began it just this week and can see the benefits already. Depending on how my training goes the next two months leading up to the race I may just decide to run for a sub three hour finishing time.
My second key race of the year will be the Siskiyou Out and Back 50 miler. Affectionately referred to as the SOB. I ran this race last year and the 50k distance the previous year and I really enjoyed myself. The organizers put together a great event in a stunning location with a good chunk of the race running along the Pacific Crest Trail.


<p><a href=”https://vimeo.com/107069890″>SOB</a&gt; from <a href=”https://vimeo.com/haydenteachout”>Hayden Teachout</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

My family and I turn it into a vacation as we go camping the week before the race and it is located near the town of Ashland Oregon which is a lovely town to spend time in. Also this race will serve as serious training for my final key race of the year: Pine to Palm.  From their web page.

Course:
A remote and rugged classic point to point course traversing the Siskiyou; Mountains Range in Southern Oregon. Starting in Williams, OR the course winds it way east to Ashland, OR on a mixture of single track trail, dirt road, with less than 4 miles of pavement. The course boasts over 20,000ft of climb and 20,000 ft of loss with 3 epic climbs to 7,000ft and fantastic views of Mt Shasta and Mt McLaughlin.

imageimage
I’ve been thinking of doing a hundred mile race ever since completing my first 100k race last year the Gorge Waterfalls. To truly call myself an ultra runner I feel I must complete one of these races of 100 miles or more. Although I have some doubts I feel I can and will be prepared to succeed at this distance.
After running three 100k races and a 50 miler last year I feel it necessary to cut back a bit so I can not only finish my races but do them as well as possible. Last year I found myself simply trying to recuperate from race to race and not improving as much as I’d like to. Hopefully this strategy of running fewer races and increasing the distance of each race as the year progresses and some assistance from a coach will set me up for success. I may run a couple other races as well including the Dirty Half Marathon in the spring and possibly the Headwaters 50k Trail Race near Mt. Shasta after Pine to Palm. But these three races will be my main focus this 2016

May 1st: Eugene Marathon 26.2 miles
July 23rd: SOB 50 miles
September 10th: Pine to Palm 100 miles

image

4 thoughts on “2016 Race Schedule

  1. Saulius Post author

    Awesome race. Good luck on getting in. Last year I was the very last pick so one never knows. If I wasn’t doing Pine to Palm I would have tried getting into Waldo.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

