A run in the Tetons.

Breathing in, breathing out. One foot forward striking the hard ground. The other foot follows quickly as I pick my path watching for rocks that lay strewn along the way.

image2.JPG

It’s a warm afternoon and I feel the suns heat upon my head and shoulders. Sweat trickles down stinging my eyes. I wipe it away and take a drink from my bladder pack which rests upon my sweaty back.  My footfalls continue as the trail flows beneath me as I follow it twisting through the mountain landscape. I look left then right. Jagged peaks, grey and immense tower above as I progress deeper into their midst.

Tetons-cathedrals-web-copy

I pause to take in these mammoth granite giants. Feeling their power they fill my inner being, replenishing my emotional state. I look around at my immediate surroundings and breathe in deeply. The smell of plants and flowers enter my nostrils triggering more feelings of joy. This is why I come. This is why I don’t mind the hard effort and pain. For the physical pain is short lived but what I gain from a run in nature such as this lasts for days, even weeks. Some of the memories and feelings of pure joy last a lifetime. I look ahead and the trail becons me forward. I oblige with anticipation of what’s lies ahead. I turn and push my foot forward digging into the trail. Breathing in, breathing out I continue on. I feel so alive.

image3

5 thoughts on “A run in the Tetons.

    1. Saulius Post author

      This particular ail was up Cascade Canyon to Lake Solitude and back. 16.5 miles. Was spectacular hadn’t been on that trail in 25 years. Other short run was signal mountain. Due to nagging Achilles didn’t do more runs, plus it was family vacation too. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Ultramarathon an Trail Running Daily News | Monday, Aug 14

Leave a Reply

